MRI Safety — Master Page: Hazards, Terminology, Governance, Zones, Operating Modes and Deep-Dive Map
MRIninja Knowledge Base | Master / Reference Page — MRI Safety Version 2.1 — October 2026
Builds on: MRI Physics — Fundamentals and Principles · SAR, Bioeffects, and MRI Safety Physics · Magnetic Field, Hardware, and Homogeneity · High-Field Physics · Contrast Media in MRI · Patient Preparation
1. Scope, Status of This Page and How to Use It
This page is the global reference for MR safety on MRIninja. It does not try to hold the detail of any single hazard. It does four things: it names the hazards and states, for each one, what causes harm and which layer of control addresses it (Section 3); it fixes the vocabulary that every other safety page will use (Section 4); it describes who is responsible for what and how access to the magnet is organised (Sections 5 to 7); and it gives the reference levels and operating modes that frame every protocol decision (Sections 8 and 9). Each hazard then has, or will have, its own deep-dive page (Section 12), which assumes everything written here and does not repeat it.
Status. Fifteen deep dives are published (S1a, zones and access control; S1b, static-field contours; S1c, projectile and torque hazards; S7, other active implants; S8, passive implants and foreign bodies; S10, pregnancy and the pregnant worker; S11, claustrophobia, sedation, monitoring, equipment and emergencies; S12, cryogens, quench and oxygen depletion; S13, incident learning, governance, quality and jurisdictions; S2, implant and device framework; S3, RF heating and burns; S4, gradient fields and peripheral nerve stimulation; S5, acoustic noise; S6, cardiac implantable electronic devices; and S9, gadolinium-based contrast agent safety; links in Section 12); all deep dives planned for this series are now published. The safety content of the site today sits in four places: the physics of SAR, gradient dB/dt, static-field bioeffects and acoustic noise (SAR, Bioeffects, and MRI Safety Physics); the hardware background (Magnetic Field, Hardware, and Homogeneity, High-Field Physics); the contrast-agent material (Contrast Media in MRI); and the Patient Preparation page, which currently carries the screening, implant, pregnancy, renal-function and emergency text. Section 12 lists the deep dives, linking only those that are published and marking the others planned, so that this page never points to a page that does not exist. As each deep dive is published, the corresponding text elsewhere is reduced to a short statement and a link, so that every concept has one home.
1.1 Where to find what, now and later
S1 to S13 are the deep dives listed in Section 12; all are published.
| Question | Where the content is today | Planned single home |
|---|---|---|
| Zone model, screening questionnaire, ferromagnetic objects | Patient Preparation (Sections 2 and 3) | This page (framework, Sections 6 and 7); access rules in S1a; field lines in S1b; details in S2, S8 |
| MR Safe / MR Conditional / MR Unsafe, device labels, test methods | Patient Preparation (Section 3.2.4) | This page (vocabulary, Section 4); details in S2 |
| Pacemakers and other cardiac devices | Patient Preparation (Section 3.2.1: Zone IV rule) | Hazards, categories, pathway, programming, monitoring and post-scan checks: S6 |
| Neurostimulators, pumps, cochlear implants; passive implants, clips, foreign bodies | Patient Preparation; several protocol pages carry local paragraphs | S7 and S8 |
| SAR, dB/dt and peripheral nerve stimulation, static-field bioeffects, acoustic noise — physical mechanism | SAR, Bioeffects, and MRI Safety Physics | Stays in 9210; limits, clinical consequences and practice move to S3 (published), S4 (published: Gradient fields and PNS), S5 (published: Acoustic noise), S1 |
| RF heating, burns, conductive clothing, tattoos | Patient Preparation (Section 4); SAR, Bioeffects, and MRI Safety Physics (SAR) | Hazard table here; mechanism to practice in S3 |
| Quench, cryogens, oxygen depletion | One sentence in Magnetic Field, Hardware, and Homogeneity | S12 |
| Gadolinium-based contrast agents: NSF, retention, hypersensitivity, premedication, pregnancy and lactation | Contrast Media in MRI (Section 10, reduced to pointers); Patient Preparation (Sections 6 to 8, reduced to pointers) | Safety: S9; chemistry and pharmacology stay in 9101 |
| Pregnancy, lactation, staff exposure | Patient Preparation (Section 6) | S10 |
| Claustrophobia, sedation, monitoring, MR-conditional equipment | Patient Preparation (Section 9 and 16) | S11 |
| SAR as a constraint on sequence and parameter choice | Sequence and parameter pages (Section 9 of this page lists them) | Stay where they are; they point to S3 |
1.2 What this page is not
It is not a facility policy, a screening form, or a clearance procedure for any specific device. Decisions about an individual patient, implant or incident depend on the device label, the equipment installed, the local policy and the responsible clinicians; the safety pages describe the framework and the evidence, and state where a decision must be taken from the manufacturer’s MR labelling or from a named responsible person.
2. Sources and Evidence Framework for MR Safety
MR safety differs from most topics on the site. Randomised evidence on the hazards themselves does not exist and could not ethically be generated. The working evidence is made of standards that fix equipment limits and labelling, professional manuals and regulatory guidance that translate them into practice, exposure guidelines from radiation-protection bodies, registry and incident data, and physics and engineering studies. The hierarchy applied on this page therefore ranks official guidance and normative documents first, consensus updates second, and educational reviews last, and the status of each source read is stated in Table 1. Every safety page states which documents it actually read, because several of these documents are copyrighted and only partly accessible.
Table 1 lists the instruments used on this page. “Read” means what was available when this page was written; statements on this page are limited to that.
| Instrument | Type and audience | What it governs | What was read for this page |
|---|---|---|---|
| ACR Manual on MR Safety (2024) [1] | Professional manual (US; used internationally) | Sixteen chapters: management of policies, zones, personnel, screening, “full stop” final check, Zone IV preparation, MRI fields and safety concerns, contrast agents, classification of objects and implants, portable equipment, patients with implants, monitoring, emergencies, special populations, alternative MR environments | Contents, zone definitions, role definitions, fringe-field statement; chapters 5, 8, 10, 14 and 15 not available |
| MHRA Safety Guidelines, 5th edition (July 2026) [2] | Official guidance (UK) | Hazards, exposure management, management of MRI units, patients and volunteers, equipment life cycle; appendices on cryogens and venting, exposure limits, training, reportable incidents | Contents, selected sections up to 4.1.4 and selected pages (Table 3, 3.3.5, 3.4.2, 2.4.2); incomplete |
| JMRI-ISMRM update to ACR guidance (2020) [3] | Consensus recommendation | Refinements to screening and patient safety; SAR and specific energy dose; spatial field gradient; 7 T systems | Full text read section by section |
| IEC 60601-2-33:2022 (4th ed.) [4] | International equipment standard (manufacturers) | Limits and indications built into the scanner: operating modes, SAR and specific absorption, gradient time-varying field, acoustic noise, static field | Catalogue entry only; content taken from the BIR sheet [5] and the MHRA guidelines [2] |
| ASTM F2503 [6] | Marking standard (manufacturers and labellers) | Terms and icons for MR Safe, MR Conditional, MR Unsafe | Catalogue scope; wording of the terms taken from MHRA 1.5 |
| FDA guidance on testing and labelling (2021) [7] | Regulatory guidance (US industry) | Testing and labelling of devices that may be used in an MR environment, including implants and worn or carried devices | Trade-press description only |
| ICNIRP static-field guidelines (2009) and patient statement amendment (2009) [8, 9] | Exposure guidelines | Static magnetic field limits for workers and the general public; patients covered by a separate statement | Full text |
| Directive 2013/35/EU [10] | EU legislation (employers) | Worker exposure to electromagnetic fields; Article 10 derogation for MRI | Article 10 and a general summary |
| Educational reviews [11, 12] | Narrative review; educational web page | Overview of hazards; summary of the previous IEC edition | Abstract level; used only where stated |
Consequences for the way safety pages are written. (1) Numerical limits are quoted only from a document that was read, with the edition named; where the edition could not be checked the value is marked. (2) A device label overrides any generic statement: a device may carry conditions that differ from the system limits quoted here. (3) Statements marked Reasoning are the author’s inference from the cited sources and are not found in them; statements marked (to be sourced) are expected to be true but were not found in a document read. (4) Regulatory instruments are specific to a jurisdiction (Section 5 and Section 13).
3. Hazard Taxonomy
MR safety is the management of several unrelated physical agents that happen to coexist in one room. The agents differ in mechanism, in who is exposed (patient, staff, bystander), in what limits them (equipment, screening, behaviour) and in how often they cause reported harm. Table 2 gives the classification used by all later safety pages. The “principal control layer” column states which layer carries most of the protection: equipment (limits built into the scanner), screening (what enters the magnet with the patient), operation (set-up, positioning, monitoring) or facility (design, access control, training).
| Hazard source | Mechanism and who is exposed | Principal harm described in the sources read | Principal control layer | Physics and background today | Planned deep dive |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Static field B0 and spatial field gradient | Force and torque on ferromagnetic objects and on implants; transient sensations (vertigo, nausea) with movement in the field. Patient, staff, anyone in the MR environment | Projectile injury; implant displacement or malfunction [3, 11]; transient vestibular sensations, reduced by slow movement [9]; evidence on projectile incidents and torque is in S1c (S1c) | Facility and screening | SAR, Bioeffects, and MRI Safety Physics (Section 5); Magnetic Field, Hardware, and Homogeneity | S1 |
| Switched gradient fields (dB/dt) | Induced electric field in tissue; time-varying fields acting on devices. Patient | Peripheral nerve stimulation; the gradient output is limited to a fraction of the median stimulation threshold in each operating mode [2] | Equipment | SAR, Bioeffects, and MRI Safety Physics (Section 4); Gradient fields and PNS (published) | S4 |
| Radiofrequency field (B1) | Absorption of RF energy in tissue (SAR); concentrated heating near conductors, including resonant heating of short conductive lengths at 7 T (reported for lengths of about 5–7 cm) [3]. Patient | Thermal burns, the most reported incident type to the MHRA [2]; lead and implant heating; burn prevention depends on insulation and positioning, a single-layer bed sheet being insufficient [3] | Operation and equipment | SAR, Bioeffects, and MRI Safety Physics (Section 3) | S3 |
| Acoustic noise | Vibration of the gradient assembly in the static field. Patient, staff in the room | Hearing risk; hearing protection must always be available to anyone in the examination room and should be worn above 85 dB(A) [2] | Operation | SAR, Bioeffects, and MRI Safety Physics (Section 6); Acoustic noise in MRI (published) | S5 |
| Cryogens and quench | Loss of superconductivity with venting of helium; displacement of oxygen if venting fails. Anyone in or near the room | Helium release and oxygen depletion [11]; venting directly to the outside is the stated control [2]; the venting area is a separate zone [1] | Facility | One sentence in Magnetic Field, Hardware, and Homogeneity | S12 |
| Implants, devices and foreign bodies (cross-cutting) | Interaction of all the fields above with the object. Patient (and occasionally staff) | Displacement, malfunction, heating; outcome depends on the individual device and the conditions of use [3, 6] | Screening and labelling | Patient Preparation (Section 3.2) | S2, S6, S7, S8 |
| Contrast agents | Chemical and immunological effects of the agent. Patient | Gadolinium-based agents: nephrogenic systemic fibrosis, tissue retention, hypersensitivity (overview [11]) | Screening and operation | Contrast Media in MRI; Patient Preparation | S9 |
| Patient-related factors | Pregnancy and lactation; anxiety and claustrophobia; sedation; children; unconscious or incapacitated patients. Patient | Questions on fetal exposure; claustrophobia and the consideration of sedation or anaesthesia (overview [11]); special patient and personnel considerations form a separate ACR chapter whose text was not available [1] | Operation | Patient Preparation (Sections 3.3, 6, 9, 14) | S10, S11 |
| Organisation and human factors | Policies, training, staffing, reporting. Everyone | Incidents arising from failure of screening or access control [1, 2] | Facility | Roles in Section 5; incident learning in S13 | S13 |
3.1 Reading the table
Three points deserve emphasis. First, the hazards interact through the device: an implant or a conductive object turns a field that is harmless to tissue into a force, a torque or a heating source, which is why implants appear as a cross-cutting row and why the MR Conditional label lists conditions on several fields at once (Section 4). Second, the hazard that is reported most frequently is not the one that is most feared: the MHRA states that burns are the most reported MRI-related adverse incidents recorded by the agency [2]; this is a statement about reports, not about incidence, and the denominator is not known. Third, the projectile hazard is governed by the spatial field gradient and not by the field at the isocentre, so a spatial map of the gradient is needed to estimate translational force on a ferromagnetic object [3]; the physical derivation is in SAR, Bioeffects, and MRI Safety Physics.
4. Terminology and Device Labelling
All later safety pages use the following terms. The wording below is taken from the MHRA guidelines, which cite ASTM F2503 [2, 6]; the ASTM text itself was not read.
| Term | Definition used on this page | Source |
|---|---|---|
| MR Safe | Posing no known hazards resulting from exposure to any MR environment | MHRA 1.5, citing ASTM F2503 [2] |
| MR Conditional | Having demonstrated safety in the MR environment within defined conditions | MHRA 1.5 [2] |
| MR Unsafe | Posing unacceptable risk within the MR environment | MHRA 1.5 [2] |
| MR Unlabelled | An item without an MR Safe, MR Conditional or MR Unsafe label. A term introduced in the UK guidance | MHRA 1.5 [2] |
| MR Environment | The three-dimensional volume around the MR system that contains the Faraday-shielded volume and the field contour of concern | ACR, Chapter 3 [1] |
| MR Controlled Access Area | The locally defined area around the MR system that contains the MR Environment | ACR, Chapter 3 [1] |
4.1 What a label does and does not say
A label attaches a classification to an item, not to a patient or an examination. For an MR Conditional item the “defined conditions” are specific to the item. The sources read show that conditions of this kind can involve the static field strength, the spatial field gradient, RF or SAR limits and the gradient slew rate [3, 5]; the full list for any item is on its own label (the list given here is illustrative, not exhaustive). Two consequences follow. A device that is MR Conditional at one field strength cannot be assumed to be conditional at another (Reasoning from the nature of a condition; the corresponding ACR statement was not read). The statement “MR Conditional” also does not describe the scanner: it is satisfied only if the installed system can be operated within the stated conditions. Fourth-edition IEC systems must provide MR equipment output conditioning at 1.5 T and 3 T, which lets the operator set limits such as the maximum B1+rms, the transmit coil type, the RF polarisation and the maximum slew rate per axis, and must display the maximum spatial field gradient, gradient amplitude and slew rate [5]. The practical matching of label to system is the content of deep dive S2.
The classification applies to all items that may enter the MR environment, not only to implants: the ACR Manual dedicates one chapter to classification of objects, implants and devices and another to introducing portable metallic objects and equipment into Zones III and IV [1]. The FDA guidance covers devices that may be used in an MR environment, including those worn or carried by patients [7].
5. Governance and Personnel
The two professional documents read for this page define different role sets, with overlapping but not identical meaning. Table 3 gives each as stated; no one-to-one mapping is implied.
| Framework | Role or personnel level | Definition as read |
|---|---|---|
| ACR [1] | MR Medical Director (MRMD) | Licensed physician or radiologist with appropriate training in MR safety |
| ACR | MR Safety Officer (MRSO) | Suitably trained individual, often an MR technologist |
| ACR | MR Safety Expert (MRSE) | Resource for the MRMD and MRSO on technical and physics-related MR safety issues |
| ACR | Level 1 MR Personnel | Educated in, and having mastered, MR safety topics |
| ACR | Level 2 MR Personnel | More extensively trained and educated in MR safety topics |
| MHRA [2] | MR Responsible Person | Person to whom the day-to-day management of MR safety is delegated |
| MHRA | MR Safety Expert | Provides scientific advice on all aspects of MR safety |
| MHRA | MR Clinician | Responsible for reviewing the appropriateness of referrals, protocolling and/or reporting the scan |
| MHRA | MR Safety Medical Adviser; MR Safety Committee; MR Referring Clinician; MR Radiographer; MR Clinical Scientist; MR Authorised Person | Listed in the contents; definitions were not available in the text read (to be sourced) |
Scope of jurisdictions. MRIninja is written for an international readership, so no single national system is treated as the default. The ACR and MHRA frameworks are given because they are the two most detailed public documents and are widely used as references outside their own countries; the equipment standard (IEC), the labelling standard (ASTM) and the exposure guidelines (ICNIRP) are international. National regulation, including the transposition of Directive 2013/35/EU in each Member State and the rules of other regions, is not described on this page (to be sourced) and can differ from these documents; a unit applies the regulation of its own country. Deep dive S13 compares the frameworks it could read side by side rather than choosing one; it did not read the legislation of individual countries either.
Reasoning. Both documents delegate day-to-day MR safety to a named person and advice on physics and device questions to a named expert, separate from the clinician who justifies the examination. The practical lesson for any unit is that three questions have three owners: who may authorise entry to Zone III (personnel level), who answers a physics or device-conditions question, and who decides the benefit–risk of scanning a patient outside the labelled conditions. How these map onto local job titles is a local decision.
6. Zones and Access Control
The ACR Manual divides the site into four zones. Zone I is the area freely accessible to the public; Zone II is the interface between the uncontrolled Zone I and the controlled Zone III; Zone III is the MR Controlled Access Area, which serves as the safety interface; Zone IV is synonymous with the MR examination room [1]. The venting area for cryogens is treated as a separate zone with controlled access [1]. The MHRA guidelines use the terms MR Controlled Access Area and MR Environment, and describe the MRI unit as the areas containing MR systems that share the same MR Controlled Access Area [2].
Figure 1 — Zone model: Zones I to IV, the field contour and the cryogen venting zone
Access rules by zone and by category of person, locks, signage, supervision and emergency access are in S1a, and the meaning of each field line and the restriction attached to it in S1b; neither is repeated here. Figure 1 is a schematic and not a floor plan; the zones are access-control concepts laid over a magnetic-field contour, and the contour does not stop at the wall. The relation between the two is the point that most often causes confusion, and is the reason for the contour discussion below.
6.1 The fringe-field contour: 5 G or 9 G
The ACR Manual states that historically the 5 G line (0.5 mT) has been a standard threshold for risk, and that a recent update to the IEC standard has revised the fringe-field limit to 9 G (0.9 mT); its revision history records the same change [1]. The BIR sheet describes the same change in the fourth edition of IEC 60601-2-33, with the B0 hazard area extent rising from 0.5 to 0.9 mT, adds that the UK value of 0.5 mT is contained in the Control of Electromagnetic Fields at Work Regulations 2016 (which cite ICNIRP 2009), and notes that regulators typically allow a two-to-three-year window before changes are implemented [5]. The MHRA guidelines refer to both the 0.5 and 0.9 mT contours and give 0.5 mT as an action level for indirect effects, with 0.9 mT as an option [2]. ICNIRP, for its part, mentions that policies protecting people with implanted devices and guarding against flying objects can call for very low levels, such as 0.5 mT, but does not set them [8].
Reasoning. The 0.9 mT contour lies closer to the magnet than the 0.5 mT contour. A unit that drew its access control on the 0.5 mT contour is therefore at least as conservative as one drawn on 0.9 mT for that purpose; a unit planning on 0.9 mT should document why, under its own jurisdiction. The sources read do not state this inference and do not say how a given facility should proceed; the transition rules are (to be sourced) from the ACR chapters on zones and from national regulation.
7. Layered Screening Framework
Screening is the main protection against the projectile, implant and burn hazards, and it works in layers so that a failure of one layer is caught by the next. The ACR Manual structures the process in separate chapters for MR screening, a “full stop / final check” before entry to Zone IV, preparation and completion of the Zone IV examination, introduction of portable objects and equipment, and management of patients with implants [1]. The 2020 consensus update refined this guidance in four areas that are relevant to every protocol: screening of patients and of non-MR personnel (with specific attention to orbital trauma, firearms, clothing and dermal adornments), caution barriers at the entrance of Zone IV, the “full-stop and final check”, and burn prevention [3].
| Layer | Purpose | Documented in the sources read | Planned home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pre-arrival and scheduling | Identify implants, devices, injuries and contrast-related risks before the patient is in the building | Chapter structure only [1] | S2, S6–S9 |
| On-site screening of patients and of non-MR personnel | Confirm and complete the history; include non-MR staff, visitors and equipment | Refinements for orbital trauma, firearms, clothing, dermal adornments [3] | S1, S2, S8 |
| Access control at the Zone III and Zone IV boundaries | Prevent unscreened people and objects entering | Controlled access areas and caution barriers [1, 3] | S1 |
| Full stop and final check | Last verification before the patient enters Zone IV | Named step in the ACR structure and in the consensus update [1, 3] | S1, S13 |
| Set-up and monitoring in Zone IV | Positioning, insulation and monitoring to prevent burns and detect events | Burn prevention: a single-layer bed sheet is insufficient insulation [3] | S3, S11 |
| Emergency response | Remove the patient from Zone IV; quench and resuscitation arrangements | Chapter on emergency situations [1]; the response to a collapse in the examination room is in S11; whether to quench and the response to a release of gas are in S12 | S13 |
The purposes in the first column are the author’s description of the layers (Reasoning); the sources name the steps, not their purposes. The content of each layer (the questions asked, the implants that require specific pathways, the way unconscious patients are handled, what a ferromagnetic detection system adds) belongs to deep dives S2, S6, S7 and S8 and is not summarised here, because the relevant ACR chapters (5, 6, 10 and 12) were not available in the copy read and the current text of the Patient Preparation page has not yet been rechecked against them (to be sourced).
8. Operating Modes and Exposure Reference Levels
This section gathers, in one place, the reference levels that the rest of the site refers to. Two families must be kept separate: equipment operating modes, which protect the patient during scanning and are built into the system under IEC 60601-2-33, and exposure guidelines, which protect workers and the general public and exclude patients undergoing diagnosis [8].
8.1 Equipment operating modes
The equipment standard defines three operating modes: normal, first-level controlled and second-level controlled. The MHRA guidelines give whole-body SAR limits and the allowed whole-body temperature increase for each mode (Table 3 of that document, reproduced in Table 4 below as read) [2]. The field-strength values of the previous edition come only from an educational page and are marked; the gradient column gives the percentages of the median PNS perception threshold stated in the MHRA guidelines, which are discussed in S4.
| Operating mode | Whole-body SAR limit | Whole-body temperature increase | Static field B0 (IEC 3rd ed., secondary source) | Gradient output (percentage of the median PNS perception threshold; MHRA 5th ed.) | Supervision (secondary source) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Normal | 2 W/kg [2] | Up to 0.5 °C [2] | Up to 3 T [12] | 80% [2] | Routine clinical use [12] |
| First-level controlled | 4 W/kg [2] | Up to 1 °C [2] | Up to 8 T [12] | 100% [2] | Medical supervision and benefit–risk assessment [12] |
| Second-level controlled | Above 4 W/kg [2] | Set locally [12] | Above 8 T [12] | 120% [2] | Ethics or human-studies protocol [12] |
The MHRA text also states that the equipment shall provide an indication to the operator when the specific absorption (SA) exceeds 120 W·min/kg [2]. Its own wording is not fully consistent (the table says “First Level Controlled” where section 3.3.3 says “Controlled Mode”) [2]. The numerical values of the fourth edition of the standard were not read; the changes known from the BIR sheet are the removal of the specific absorbed energy limit (previously a hard stop at 4 W/kg for 60 minutes, now a warning that no longer stops the system), mandatory output conditioning at 1.5 T and 3 T, and the revised B0 hazard area [5]. Local (partial-body and head) SAR limits, the numerical dB/dt limits (the MHRA appendix was not read) and the acoustic-noise limits of the current edition are (to be sourced).
8.2 Static-field reference levels
Figure 2 — Static-field reference levels on a logarithmic scale
Figure 2 combines levels that apply to different people and purposes. The ICNIRP 2009 guidelines recommend that occupational exposure of head and trunk not exceed a spatial peak of 2 T, with up to 8 T allowed in controlled workplaces with managed movement effects, up to 8 T for the limbs, and that acute exposure of the general public not exceed 400 mT [8]. For patients, the amended ICNIRP statement recommends an upper limit of 4 T for the normal operating mode and 8 T for the controlled mode, and advises that patients be moved slowly into the bore [9]. The fringe-field contours are discussed in Section 6.1. None of these figures is a patient-specific threshold for an implant, whose conditions are defined by its label (Section 4).
8.3 Worker exposure in the European Union
Directive 2013/35/EU sets minimum health and safety requirements for workers exposed to electromagnetic fields, covers known direct and indirect effects but only short-term effects, and requires employers to assess risks, take measures when action levels or limit values may be exceeded, protect workers at particular risk (the directive names pregnant workers and people with implanted medical devices) and to post signs, restrict access, train and inform workers and carry out health surveillance [10]. Article 10(1)(a) allows exposure limit values to be exceeded for MRI equipment used for patients in the health sector, but only if five conditions are met: the risk assessment shows the limits are exceeded; all technical and organisational measures have been applied given the state of the art; the circumstances duly justify exceeding the limits; the characteristics of the workplace, work equipment or work practices have been taken into account; and the employer demonstrates that workers are still protected, including by following the manufacturer’s safe-use instructions [10]. National transposition is not covered (to be sourced).
9. Safety as a Constraint on Protocol Design
For routine imaging the safety limit that most often shapes a protocol is the RF deposition, because high-flip-angle sequences with many refocusing pulses often reach the SAR ceiling first. The physical dependences are in SAR, Bioeffects, and MRI Safety Physics (SAR scales approximately with the square of flip angle and field strength); the way each sequence or parameter acts on it is documented on the pages that describe them: Turbo Spin Echo (TSE/FSE), Conventional Spin Echo, STIR, REST Slab / Presaturation Band, Parallel Imaging, NEX / NSA, Number of Slices, 2D vs 3D Acquisition and the overview MRI Parameters — Overview and Classification. This page does not repeat those levers.
What the master adds is the relation between the number shown on the console and the number that matters. The SAR metric most commonly displayed on the scanner is the whole-body-averaged value, and the specific energy dose is that SAR multiplied by the duration of exposure [3]. Reasoning. Because heating near an implant or a conductive object is local, a whole-body-averaged figure alone cannot show that an item’s condition is met; this is consistent with the fact that systems of the fourth edition must allow limits such as the maximum B1+rms to be set [5] and with the principle that the conditions on the label, not the generic operating mode, decide whether a scan can proceed (Section 4). The practical matching procedure is not stated in the sources read and is discussed in S2 with its sources (no complete published procedure was found, to be sourced); the RF-heating side is treated in S3.
Gradient-related limits (dB/dt, slew rate) and acoustic noise act on protocol choices in the same way: the limits are built into the system, but the settings that approach them (fast gradient modes, high spatial resolution, echo-planar readouts) are chosen by the protocol. The background is in SAR, Bioeffects, and MRI Safety Physics and Magnetic Field, Hardware, and Homogeneity; the limits, the margin to cardiac stimulation and the handling of a reported sensation are in S4, and acoustic noise in S5.
10. Pearls and Common Misconceptions
- “MR Conditional means safe.” It means safe within defined conditions that are specific to the item [2]; the scanner must also be operable within them [5].
- “The strongest pull is at the centre of the magnet.” Translational force depends on the spatial field gradient, and a map of the gradient is needed to estimate it [3]; the derivation is in SAR, Bioeffects, and MRI Safety Physics.
- “Zones and the 0.9 mT line are the same thing.” The zones are access-control areas; the field contour is a physical property that can extend beyond a room [1].
- “A sheet between the patient and the bore is insulation.” A single-layer bed sheet is insufficient insulation or spacing [3].
- “Burns are rare.” They are the most reported MRI-related adverse incidents to the MHRA [2]; the frequency is unknown because the denominator is not.
- “The ICNIRP static-field limits are the patient limits.” The 2009 guidelines exclude patients undergoing diagnosis or treatment; patients are covered by a separate ICNIRP statement [8, 9].
- “Hearing protection is for patients.” It must always be available to anyone in the examination room [2].
- “The SAR on the console is the heating at the implant.” Reasoning: the displayed value is whole-body-averaged [3]; local heating is a separate question (Section 9).
11. Advanced Technical Notes
11.1 SAR, specific absorption and specific energy dose
SAR is the rate of RF energy absorbed per unit mass (W/kg). The quantity accumulated over time is the specific absorption (SA) or specific energy dose, obtained by multiplying SAR by the duration of exposure [3]. In the previous edition of the standard a specific absorbed energy limit (240 W·min/kg, a hard limit of 4 W/kg for 60 minutes) stopped the system; in the fourth edition the system still posts a warning at a chosen specific absorption level, now calculated from whole-body SAR, but does not stop [5]. The MHRA text requires an indication when SA exceeds 120 W·min/kg [2]. The 2020 consensus update discusses whether SAR and SED are useful metrics and notes that the standard allows each manufacturer to conduct its own risk assessment [3]; the manufacturer-specific nature of the displayed value limits comparisons between systems (Reasoning).
11.2 Dependence on field strength
RF frequency scales with B0 (about 64 MHz at 1.5 T, 128 MHz at 3 T and 298 MHz at 7 T); at 7 T, rapid resonant heating of short electrically conductive objects, of lengths as small as 5–7 cm within tissue, has been described [3]. The same source notes that transient effects such as vertigo, tinnitus and hearing loss may be a concern at 7 T [3]. The physics background is in High-Field Physics.
11.3 What the fourth edition of the equipment standard changed (as described by the BIR)
The specific absorbed energy hard limit was eliminated; MR equipment output conditioning became mandatory at 1.5 T and 3 T, allowing the operator to set maximum B1+rms, the type of RF transmit coil, RF polarisation and the maximum gradient slew rate per axis; the equipment must display or link to the maximum spatial field gradient outside the magnet covers, the maximum gradient amplitude and the maximum slew rate per axis; and the B0 hazard area extent rose from 0.5 to 0.9 mT [5]. The sheet adds that regulators typically allow a two-to-three-year window before such changes take effect [5]. These points were read in a secondary description and are to be confirmed against the standard.
12. Deep-Dive Roadmap and Boundaries
Table 5 lists the deep dives of the series, what each owns (single home), where related text remains on other pages and the principal sources of each page. The sources named in the last column are orientation: each is cited on its own page, and none is a reference of this page unless it appears in Table 1. All pages in the table are published.
| ID | Working title | Owns (single home) | Where the text is today | Principal sources to search (not yet read) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| S1a | MR site zones and access control: Zones I to IV, categories of persons, locks, signage, supervision, emergency access (published) | Access rules by zone and person category; physical access control; signage; supervision; vertical extent; emergency access | Reduced to a pointer in Patient Preparation (Sections 2 and 3.4) when the fringe-field page is published | ACR Manual; ACR 2013 and 2002; MHRA |
| S1b | Static magnetic field contours: what each field line means, the restrictions attached to it and how to read a field plot (published) | Meaning of 0.5, 0.9, 1 and 3 mT and higher reference values; extent of the lines; staff exposure in the fringe field; field lines and implants; reading manufacturer plots | Reduced to a pointer in Patient Preparation (Section 2); master Section 6.1 keeps the 5 G / 9 G summary | ACR Manual; MHRA 4th and 5th editions; UK action levels; ICNIRP; occupational exposure review |
| S1c | Projectile and torque hazards in the static field: physics of the force, incident evidence, objects involved, detection systems and where the evidence stops (published) | Factors that increase force and torque (MHRA 2026); ten years of FDA passive reports (133 projectile events, objects by category); fatalities and injuries named in the MHRA guidelines; evidence on ferromagnetic detection; movement-induced effects stay in S1b | Reduced to a pointer in Patient Preparation (Sections 3.4 and 16) and in SAR, Bioeffects, and MRI Safety Physics (Section 5.2 keeps the mechanism) | MHRA 5th edition; FDA report review 2008-2017; case series; device evaluation; practice survey |
| S2 | Implant and device MR safety framework: test methods, label content, matching a label to the scanner (published) | ASTM test series, FDA guidance, ISO/TS 10974, MR Conditional condition types, B1+rms-based labelling | Reduced to a pointer (Patient Preparation Section 3.2.4); protocol pages | ASTM F2052, F2213, F2182, F2119, F2503; FDA 2021; ISO/TS 10974 |
| S3 | RF heating and burns: mechanisms, loops and contact, conductive clothing, tattoos, positioning and insulation, and what SAR does not tell (published) | Mechanism of burns, loops and contact, conductive clothing, tattoos, positioning and insulation, SAR and B1+rms versus local heating | Mechanism and evidence reduced to a pointer in Patient Preparation (Section 4); the practical removal list stays there | IEC 60601-2-33; ACR; FDA incident reports; case series |
| S4 | Gradient fields and peripheral nerve stimulation: thresholds, operating-mode limits, the cardiac margin, sources of variability and what to do when a patient feels tingling (published) | PNS, gradient limits of the operating modes, margin to cardiac stimulation, variability between patients, gradient effects on implants (pointers), handling of a reported sensation | Pointer added in 9210 after Section 4.3; the forward reference in 9208 Section 5.3 replaced by links | MHRA 2026; ICNIRP 2004 (via HPA); volunteer and simulation studies; IEC 60601-2-33 (not read) |
| S5 | Acoustic noise in MRI: reported levels, limits and hearing protection, evidence of harm, vulnerable groups and noise reduction (published) | Exposure metrics, reported levels, hearing-protection rules, evidence of harm, neonates, children, the fetus, staff, noise-reduction options | Pointer added in 9210 after Section 6.2; the mechanism stays in 9210 Section 6.1 | MHRA 2026; HPA 2008 (ICNIRP 2004); volunteer, neonatal and quiet-sequence studies; IEC 60601-2-33 (not read) |
| S6 | Cardiac implantable electronic devices in MRI: hazards, device categories, pathway, programming, monitoring and post-scan checks (published) | CIED hazards, device categories and where the frameworks differ, decision pathway, programming, personnel and monitoring, post-scan thresholds, abandoned and epicardial leads | Risk list reduced to a pointer in Patient Preparation (Section 3.2.1; the Zone IV rule stays there); statements in the thoracic-spine and pituitary pages reduced to pointers | HRS 2017; British Society 2024; SCMR 2024; Portuguese 2021; MagnaSafe; systematic review of abandoned leads |
| S7 | Active implants other than cardiac devices in MRI: deep brain, spinal cord, vagus and sacral stimulators, cochlear and other auditory implants, drug infusion pumps and glucose monitors (published) | Hazards common to active implants (MHRA 2026); evidence by device group: deep brain stimulation, spinal cord and peripheral nerve stimulation, vagus and sacral nerve stimulation, cochlear and auditory implants (systematic review 2026, Dutch guideline 2024), drug pumps, glucose monitors; where documents differ | Reduced to a pointer in Patient Preparation (Section 3.2.3); cochlear and endolymphatic protocol pages keep their local paragraphs | MHRA 5th edition; Dutch national guideline 2024; systematic review; case series; manufacturer documents |
| S8 | Passive implants and retained foreign bodies in MRI: aneurysm clips, stents, orthopaedic hardware, orbital metal and retained fragments (published) | Mechanisms and the role of the label; aneurysm clips (incident databases, Dutch review, first fatal case); coronary stents and orthopaedic implants (single-author guidelines, abstract-level review); orbital foreign bodies (screening strategy); retained bullets and fragments; where documents differ | Reduced to a pointer in Patient Preparation (Sections 3.2.2 and 3.2.3 table rows); protocol pages keep local paragraphs | MHRA 5th edition; Dutch aneurysm clip review 2024; single-author guidelines 2025; case reports and small series |
| S9 | Gadolinium-based contrast agent safety: NSF, retention, hypersensitivity and premedication, pregnancy and lactation, and where guidance differs (published) | NSF and renal questions, retention, hypersensitivity, premedication and change of agent, pregnancy, lactation; the points on which documents differ | Statements in the contrast page (Section 10) and in Patient Preparation (Sections 6.2, 6.4, 7, 8) reduced to pointers; pregnancy screening questions and the consent list stay in Patient Preparation | ACR-NKF 2021; RCR 2019; EMA 2017; retention reviews; hypersensitivity and pregnancy cohorts; ACR Manual on Contrast Media (not read) |
| S10 | MRI in pregnancy and the pregnant worker: fetal exposure evidence, operating mode and field strength, consent, and occupational exposure of pregnant staff (published) | Statements of the physical agents and the fetus; operating mode and field strength; the Ontario cohort and its limits; consent; pregnant staff (MHRA, Canadian recommendations, a 1993 survey); where the documents differ | Section 6.1 of Patient Preparation reduced to a pointer; gadolinium in pregnancy stays in S9, noise and fetal hearing in S5; screening questions stay in Patient Preparation (Section 6.3) | MHRA 5th edition; ACOG Committee Opinion 723; Canadian Association of Radiologists 2022; Ontario cohort 2016; EU Directive 2013/35/EU (not read) |
| S11 | Claustrophobia, sedation, monitoring, MR-conditional equipment and emergencies in the MR environment (published) | Frequency of claustrophobia and measures to reduce it; children and the decision to sedate; sedation and anaesthesia; monitoring in the field; MR-conditional equipment; emergencies and resuscitation; where the documents differ | Sections 9 and 16 of Patient Preparation reduced to pointers (screening of unconscious patients stays in Section 3.3); heating by leads stays in S3, noise in S5, quench in S12 | ASA advisory 2015; AAP and AAPD guideline 2016; BAMRR statement 2026; MHRA 5th edition; claustrophobia reviews and cohorts; Association of Anaesthetists 2019 (summary only) |
| S12 | Cryogens, quench and oxygen depletion in MRI: what is measured, what the guidance states, where the vent path has failed, and where the evidence stops (published) | Hazards of cryogens; what was measured in a quench; failures of the vent path; oxygen depletion and monitoring; whether to quench in an emergency; response after a quench; where the documents differ | Quench statements in the zones page reduced to pointers; one sentence in Magnetic Field, Hardware, and Homogeneity retained; resuscitation workflow in S11 | ACR guidance 2013; MHRA Section 2.7.1 (Chapter 6 and Appendix 1 not read); quench measurement 2019; manufacturer notice 2018; adverse-event report analysis 2019 |
| S13 | Incident learning, governance, quality and jurisdictions in MR safety: what the surveys show, what each framework requires of reporting, roles and training, and where the documents differ (published) | Reporting routes, under-reporting, roles, training and audit beyond the ACR and MHRA comparison, occupational exposure rules, frameworks side by side (none privileged) | Roles and jurisdictions in Section 5 of this page retained; the comparison of frameworks is in S13 | RANZCR 2017; FDA and NHS reporting pages; HSE exemption; Health Canada Safety Code 26 (archived); Swedish and European surveys 2020 to 2026; regulations and the ACR Manual not read |
Proposed order. S2, S1a, S1b, S1c, S3, S6, S9, S4, S5, S7, S8, S10, S11, S12, S13, all published (the former S1 is divided into S1a, S1b and S1c), by hazard severity and by the number of pages that depend on the content. The order is a proposal for the site owner to confirm. This master will be revised after each deep dive so that its tables point to the page as published.
Boundary rules. A deep dive owns its mechanism-to-practice content and the numerical limits it cites; this master owns the vocabulary, the roles, the zone model, the operating-mode table and the hazard table; the physics pages own the derivations. A deep dive does not repeat a definition given in Section 4 or a table given in Section 8; it links to it.
13. Evidence Gaps and Ongoing Debate
- No randomised evidence on the hazards. The evidence is made of standards, official guidance, consensus documents and incident reports. This page ranks them as official guidance and consensus above educational reviews; the reasoning is in Section 2.
- The standard itself was not read. IEC 60601-2-33 (4th edition, 2022) is described here through the MHRA guidelines and the BIR sheet. The field-strength values of the operating modes (Table 4) come from an educational web page describing the third edition [12]; the gradient percentages come from the MHRA guidelines; local SAR, head SAR, numerical dB/dt and acoustic limits of the current edition are not given.
- The ACR copy read has an inconsistent edition year. The cover states 2024, whereas the preface of the same copy refers to a 2026 edition that replaces earlier versions [1]. Statements on this page are limited to what the copy states; the edition year has to be confirmed with the publisher before the page cites page numbers.
- The MHRA guidelines were rewritten recently. The fifth edition was published in July 2026 as a full rewrite and revised several times up to September 2026 [2]. Section numbers and role definitions must be rechecked against the current file before they are quoted elsewhere; the role definitions beyond section 4.1.4 were not available.
- 5 G versus 9 G. The ACR and the fourth edition of IEC use 0.9 mT; UK legislation cites 0.5 mT, and an implementation window of two to three years is expected [1, 5]. How units should handle the transition is not stated in the sources read.
- Burn frequency. “Most reported” is not “most frequent”: it reflects reporting behaviour. A narrative review states that more than 70% of MRI complications relate to burns [11]; the underlying source and denominator were not verified, so the figure is not used on this page.
- Jurisdictions. The page is built on international and two widely used national documents (ACR, MHRA). National regulations, the transposition of Directive 2013/35/EU by Member States, and regional device-labelling practice are not covered and can differ (to be sourced); they are compared, as far as the sources could be read, in S13, which did not read the legislation of individual countries either.
- Pregnancy, contrast safety, sedation and other topics are not assessed here; they belong to the deep dives and are not summarised so that they are not stated without their sources.
14. Evidence-Based References
A. Guidelines, Consensus, Standards and Regulation
B. Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses
None retrieved or used. Category B is not populated.
C. Narrative Reviews and Educational Sources (secondary)
D. Foundational and Historical Landmarks
None used on this page; foundational papers on SAR, nerve stimulation, static-field effects and acoustic noise are cited on the physics page for SAR and bioeffects.
End of document — MRI Safety (Master) — MRIninja v2.5 — October 2026. Version 2.5 links fifteen published deep dives (S1a zones and access control, S1b static-field contours, S1c projectile and torque hazards, S7 other active implants, S8 passive implants and foreign bodies, S10 pregnancy and the pregnant worker, S11 claustrophobia, sedation, monitoring, equipment and emergencies, S12 cryogens, quench and oxygen depletion, S13 incident learning, governance, quality and jurisdictions, S2 implant and device framework, S3 RF heating and burns, S4 gradient fields and peripheral nerve stimulation, S5 acoustic noise, S6 cardiac implantable electronic devices, S9 gadolinium-based contrast agent safety); all deep dives planned for this series are published (Section 12).
Child Protocols
Clinical pages derived from this master protocol. These pages document what changes for specific indications.
Related Protocols
Recent PubMed search for this protocol